Greetings

8 May, 2024

I think I have written about greetings before; have I talked about the youngest generation?

I walk to the home of the leader for Truth is Light ministries for morning devotions.  Along the way I pass many youths that are too young even for nursery school.  At first they were nervous, even scared when I walked by their homes.  Currently I am the only white person in Koboko’s West Division.  After a month, most of them would wave to me as we greeted each other.  One day, a little one came running.  Down the dirt path that led to his house, out to the road where I was walking; he held his arms up as he ran to me.

He father tells me his name is George but they call him Ukey.  Now Ukey looks forward to giving me a hug as I go to morning devotions (which he calls work), and again when I return.  Handshakes are common, Ukey is my only hugger.  He noticed that others shake my hand, so after the hug he shakes my hand too.

Leave a comment