Burials

2 May, 2024

I received an invitation to attend a management meeting for the new nursery school at St. John.  The night before the meeting I received a new text message saying the meeting was moved to Friday because of a burial service.  Burial services are typically the day after a person dies, sometimes the same day.  The culture is to move any meetings and change any plans to attend a burial.  St. John Birijaku has had several people pass away this week, impacting several families but not those with close ties to me this time.

Unfortunately, the new date for the meeting has numerous conflicts.  I will be attending the graduation of the South Sudan Evangelical School of Theology in Mugujai, they asked me to speak.  The reverend will be attending a meeting for the formation of a new diocese for the Church of Uganda.  Others have conflicts too, so that meeting will probably be rescheduled again.  Hopefully, it will not be preempted by another burial.